Truth in Lending Act — The Five Numbers on Your Auto Contract That Are Federal Law (2026)

Manny Ruiz · Real Talk Media Group — Last Verified 2026-07-04

TL;DR

The Truth in Lending Act (TILA, 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seq.) and its implementing rule, Regulation Z at 12 C.F.R. § 1026, are the federal law telling every auto lender and every dealer selling on a retail installment sales contract (RISC) that five numbers must appear on your paperwork in standardized, prominent form: amount financed, finance charge, annual percentage rate (APR), total of payments, and payment schedule. Get any of them wrong or bury them, and TILA gives you statutory damages up to the lesser of one million dollars or one percent of the creditor’s net worth in a class action, plus attorney’s fees (15 U.S.C. § 1640). The famous TILA “right of rescission” is not one of the five, and it does not apply to auto loans — only to credit secured by your principal dwelling. (Last Verified 2026-07-04.)

The Statute / The Law

  • 15 U.S.C. § 1601 — Congressional findings and purpose of TILA
  • 15 U.S.C. § 1602(f) and § 1602(j) — definitions of “creditor” and “consumer credit” that pull auto lending under the statute
  • 15 U.S.C. § 1638 — the disclosure requirements for closed-end credit (auto retail installment contracts are the flagship closed-end product)
  • 15 U.S.C. § 1640 — civil liability, statutory damages, and class action caps
  • 12 C.F.R. § 1026 — Regulation Z, CFPB’s implementing regulation covering timing, format, and content of TILA disclosures

The CFPB is the primary regulator for TILA in the auto space (see F2), coordinating with the FTC and prudential banking regulators.

Sources: 15 U.S.C. § 1638 at law.cornell.edu · 12 C.F.R. § 1026 at ecfr.gov

How It Works

Where TILA disclosures live on your paperwork. On a closed-end auto RISC, TILA disclosures appear as the “Federal Truth in Lending Disclosures” box — a five-cell grid at the top of your contract. Every number in that box has a legal definition.

The five numbers, defined:

  1. Amount Financed — the amount of credit provided to you or on your behalf. If the dealer rolled negative equity from a trade-in into your loan, that shows up here as an addition to the vehicle amount. If a dealer wrote an “under the desk” amount to inflate credit, that mismatch is a TILA violation and typically a UDAP claim too.
  2. Finance Charge — the total dollar cost of the credit over the life of the loan. Interest, but also mandatory fees the lender imposes as a condition of the loan.
  3. Annual Percentage Rate (APR) — the annualized cost of credit, including interest and finance-charge-qualifying fees, expressed as a rate. The APR is nearly always higher than the “interest rate” you were quoted verbally, and TILA requires the APR to be more prominent than the interest rate on the disclosure.
  4. Total of Payments — sum of all payments over the loan’s full term (Amount Financed + Finance Charge, minus certain items).
  5. Payment Schedule — the number, amount, and timing of payments. Balloon payments must be disclosed separately.

Additional TILA disclosures on auto RISCs: security interest in the vehicle, prepayment provisions (whether there is a penalty), late payment terms, and insurance requirements. Under Regulation Z § 1026.18 these follow the five-number disclosures.

Rescission does not apply. TILA’s three-day right of rescission under 15 U.S.C. § 1635 is limited to credit secured by a consumer’s principal dwelling. Auto loans are almost never rescindable under TILA. Buyer’s-remorse remedy on a car deal, if any, is contract-based (dealer-specific “due bill” or a state cooling-off statute — Georgia has no auto cooling-off; see GA-4).

Balloon payment disclosure. If your loan has a balloon payment, TILA and Regulation Z require the balloon to be disclosed separately and prominently. Failure to disclose a balloon can void the balloon (some courts) or trigger statutory damages (all courts).

Prepayment penalty disclosure. If the loan carries a prepayment penalty (rare on prime auto, more common on subprime), TILA requires an explicit prepayment-penalty checkbox on the disclosure. (Last Verified 2026-07-04.)

Cure Period

TILA has no “cure period” concept for auto RISC disclosures. A defective disclosure at signing is a completed violation and the statutory damages clock starts running. Consumers have one year from the violation to bring a private TILA action for statutory damages under 15 U.S.C. § 1640(e), three years for rescission-eligible violations (dwelling only).

Common Violations

Recurrent TILA auto-finance issues 2020–2026:

  • APR misdisclosure — the disclosed APR does not include a mandatory add-on fee that the CFPB or a court finds is a “finance charge” element
  • Amount Financed mismatch with the actual funded amount, typically after roll-in of negative equity that was not disclosed on a separate line
  • Balloon payment concealment on subprime deals structured as low-payment / balloon
  • Prepayment penalty not disclosed or misdisclosed on the checkbox
  • Insurance requirements written into the contract without proper single-premium credit insurance disclosure
  • Late fee cascade — servicer misapplies payments and stacks late fees in violation of the payment schedule

What Buyers Should Do

Read the five-number box on the Federal Truth in Lending Disclosures before you sign. Compare the APR on that box to the “rate” the salesperson quoted verbally — they will almost never match, and TILA anticipates that; the disclosed APR is the legal rate. Check the Amount Financed against the vehicle price minus your down payment and trade-in credit; if there is a gap you did not expect, the F&I office rolled something into the loan. Ask them to identify it, in writing, on the contract before you sign. Take a photo of the completed Federal Truth in Lending Disclosures box for your records — that is the box a TILA claim will need if a problem surfaces later.

If a defect appears after you sign, you have one year from signing under § 1640(e) to file a private TILA action for statutory damages, and TILA authorizes attorney’s fees for successful claims (§ 1640(a)(3)), which is why consumer-side TILA counsel can take cases on contingency. State UDAP claims (Georgia FBPA § 10-1-393, see GA-12) often accompany the TILA action.

Bilingual Notes

Para compradores hispanohablantes: la Ley TILA le da derechos federales aunque el contrato esté en inglés. Los cinco números en el cuadro “Federal Truth in Lending Disclosures” al tope de su contrato son ley federal: cantidad financiada, cargo por financiamiento, APR, total de pagos, calendario de pagos. El APR es la tasa legal — casi nunca coincide con la “tasa de interés” que el vendedor mencionó verbalmente. Si negoció en español, el vendedor debería explicarle esos cinco números en español antes de firmar. TILA no exige que el contrato esté en español, pero ECOA (15 U.S.C. § 1691) sí prohíbe cualquier discriminación crediticia por idioma. Si el APR resulta más alto que el de un comprador similar en inglés, es reclamo federal ECOA (ver F6).

Sources (Primary)

  1. 15 U.S.C. § 1601 — TILA Congressional purpose. law.cornell.edu (Accessed 2026-07-04)
  2. 15 U.S.C. § 1638 — closed-end credit disclosure requirements. law.cornell.edu (Accessed 2026-07-04)
  3. 15 U.S.C. § 1640 — civil liability and statutory damages. law.cornell.edu (Accessed 2026-07-04)
  4. 12 C.F.R. § 1026 — Regulation Z (CFPB). ecfr.gov (Accessed 2026-07-04)
  5. CFPB TILA compliance guide (auto finance section). consumerfinance.gov (Accessed 2026-07-04)
  6. 15 U.S.C. § 1635 — right of rescission (dwelling only; not auto). law.cornell.edu (Accessed 2026-07-04)

Related Cells

  • F1 — FTC Used Car Rule (dealer-side federal disclosure regime)
  • F2 — CFPB authority — the primary TILA regulator in auto
  • F6 — ECOA — the fair lending overlay when a TILA violation correlates with a protected class
  • F8 — UDAAP — the way CFPB often bundles TILA violations with abusive practice claims
  • GA-4 — Georgia has no auto cooling-off period
  • GA-12 — Georgia FBPA § 10-1-393 as state UDAP overlay

Manny’s Floor Note

On the sales floor I have watched hundreds of buyers focus on the monthly payment and skip the box that carries the actual federal disclosures. That is exactly backwards — the payment number is one output of the deal; the five federal disclosures ARE the deal. Ninety seconds spent on the Federal Truth in Lending Disclosures box before you sign is ninety seconds that keeps you out of the majority of contract disputes that surface later. When the disclosed APR is dramatically higher than the quoted interest rate, you have a conversation to have with the F&I office — before you sign, not after. That is the point of the box. (our verification process: Manny’s sales floor through sales manager experience — not F&I, not general management.)


Verified 2026-07-04 against primary sources.

Verified by a Named Human

Author & Editor
Manny Ruiz
Retired U.S. Army Sergeant First Class (SFC, Ret. 2016)
Senior All-Source Intelligence Analyst
Dealer-side career: sales floor through sales manager
LinkedIn · About page
Contact & Corrections
Direct: [email protected]
Phone: 762-815-7105
Corrections: reply to any published page with the URL and the specific claim — corrections logged in writing within 5 business days.
Publisher
Real Talk Media Group LLC (Georgia)
Registered agent: Northwest Registered Agent Service
No sponsors. No dealer money. Ever.
Verification Method
Every statute, dollar cap, or regulatory claim on this site is checked against the primary source (state DOR, state AG, FTC, CFPB, NAIC, or official code) with an accessed-on date. Method: /how-we-verify/
LAST REVIEWED 2026-08-01
This page is informational consulting only — not legal or financial advice. Manny is your coach, not your agent. Final decisions are yours. For legal representation, consult a licensed attorney in your state.